My Account
Mon, 29 May | 6:30PM

Mo News! - Event Update:

Our event with Mo Willems at SteppingStone Theatre sold out fast, but if you can stay up for it, there’s one more chance to meet him.   We’re releasing a limited number of “signing only” tickets to folks who purchase a book from Red Balloon.  These tickets...

Sat, 3 June | 10:30AM

Join Minneapolis author Stephen Shaskan for storytime with his new book, Toad on the Road.  Reading, music, refreshments, and shenanigans! More details coming soon....

 

 

 

 

 

Sun, 4 June | 11:00AM to 6:00PM

Grand Old DayRed Balloon is gearing up for another Grand Old Day - St. Paul's one day festival dedicated to family fun, great music, fair food, and local businesses -  and a whole Summer of Reading Without Walls.  Keep your eyes peeled for Red Balloon’s entry in Minnesota’s largest summer parade starting at 9:30am.  Then swing by the store anytime after 11am to pick up your ...

Sat, 10 June | 2:00PM

Community Reporter Kid's Poetry ContestCongratulations to the winners of the Community Reporter’s Kid’s Poetry Contest! Support the budding talents of these young writers by attending a celebration in their honor. Meet the poets and hear their winning poems. Family, friends, and the community are invited. Light refreshments will be served. www.communityreporter.org

Take a look at a few new books we love
Click on "Staff Favorites" above to see a longer list

Picture Books

Stephen Shaskan knows how to make a book for storytime! Toad on the Road is full of the great rhymes, vibrant illustrations, funny jokes, and ample sound effects that are trademarks of his books. A great story to share with toddlers and preschoolers, or for the emerging reader to try on her own. -- Angela (RBB Staff)


Middle Grade

Ciphers, skyscrapers, and airships, oh my! Theo, Tess, and Jamie live in an alternate NYC, in a building designed by a pair of eccentric inventors--the Morningstarr twins--whose steampunk creations still power the subway, keep the streets clean, and conceal a cipher that leads to an incredible treasure trove. When the kids' apartment building is bought by a developer who plans to demolish it, they decide to save it by solving the cipher, a decision that catapults them into a centuries-old mystery. The perfect book for history-buffs, master-puzzlers, kids facing a move, or anyone who likes to read wonderful books. I can't wait for Book 2!  -- Lily (RBB Staff)


Young Adult

Eliza is the creator of a very popular online fantasy comic Monstrous Sea. Known as "LadyConstellation," she is anonymous to all but two of her readers, and spends her days drawing in her room or hanging out online in the forums--to the disdain of her athletic parents and brothers. This all changes when she meets Wallace, the quiet new kid at school, and a huge Monstrous Sea fan. Keeping her identity secret, Eliza and Wallace become close, bonding over their mutual love of the Monstrous Sea story. The longer Eliza hides, the more difficult it is for her to balance her online identity with her actual, real life identity. This book was cute, geeky, and perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell.  -- Kelsie (RBB Staff)


Adult

OMG! If this is "dieting", then sign me up! I want to cook the delectable Fiesta BBQ Chicken Nachos for my dude (who would eat pizza and ice cream at every meal if he could). I love that the recipes seem doable and actually are better for you than most "guilty pleasures" out there. What a great way to eat healthier while pretending to sin! -- Barb (RBB Staff)


Stay up-to-date on all that’s happening at Red Balloon

Sign up for our email list to receive our monthly newsletter and our event updates

Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and follow us on Pintrest