Welcome to Red Balloon


 
 
Events! at Red Balloon Bookshop


Eileen Beha, The Secrets of Eastcliff-By-The-Sea - Launch Party!

Tuesday, Aug 26, 7:00 pm

Eileen Beha

Eileen Beha, author of the celebrated Tango: Tale of an Island Dog, is back with her newest book, and we’re throwing a party! In The Secrets of Eastcliff-by-the-Sea, a charming sock monkey named Throckmorton reunites a fractured family, in this simply remarkable novel in the tradition of The Velveteen Rabbit and The Penderwicks. We’ll hear about this new book, do sock monkey crafts and activities, and have refreshments and tons of fun!

Eileen Beha is a former middle school principal and graduate of Hamline University’s MFA in Creative Writing program. She lives in Minneapolis with her husband and their two dogs, Tango and Daisy. www.EileenBeha.com

 

Saturday Spanish Storytime

Saturday, Sept , 10:30 am

Language Sprout

Come to Red Balloon for a special Saturday edition of Spanish Storytime, brought to you by Language Sprout Learning Centers! Sing songs, say rhymes, and hear stories, all performed en Español! Enjoy a themed craft to complete the fun.  Ven, te esperamos!(Recommended for ages birth-3)

Since 2003, the Language Sprout Learning Center has partnered with children, parents, and schools throughout the Twin Cities to revolutionize multilingual education in Minnesota. Start learning a foreign language today! www.languagesprout.com

Shelley Tougas, The Graham Cracker Plot - Launch Party!

Saturday, Sept 6, 2:00 pm

Join Red Balloon and debut novelist Shelley Tougas for a party to launch her new, nail-biting, and hilarious heist novel, The Graham Cracker Plot! Daisy Bauer and her sometimes-best friend, Graham, are determined to break Daisy's dad out of prison in a story that balances humor and warmth against themes of family, broken trust, and unconditional love against all odds.

Shelley Tougas is an award-winning writer of nonfiction for children. Her most recent title, Little Rock Girl 1957, was a School Library Journal Best Book of 2012, Booklist Top Ten Editors’ Choice, and the winner of the Arkansiana Award for best Juvenile/YA book. The Graham Cracker Plot is her first novel.


Girls (and Moms) Read Book Club

Monday, Sept 8, 6:30 pm

Girls and Moms Read

Calling all girls in 5th - 7th grade! Grab your mom and bring her to Red Balloon’s Girls (and Moms) Read book club. Meet other girls and moms and share the fun of reading. Girls (and Moms) Read meets on 2nd Mondays at Red Balloon Bookshop.

This month we'll be discussing The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall and choosing books for the coming season. 

 

Call the store, 651-224-8320, for more information!


More Upcoming Events... Details coming soon!

Thurs, Sept 11, 6:30 pm - Mac Barnett, Telephone

Sat, Sept 13, 10:30 am - Richard Scarry's Busytown Storytime with Children's Theatre Company

Sat, Sept 15, 6:30 pm - Teens Read Book Club

Tues, Sept 16, 6:30 pm - Kelly Barnhill, The Witch's Boy - Launch Party!

Thurs, Sept 18, 6:30 pm - Chapter & Verse Book Club

Sat, Sept 20, 10:30 am - Curiosity Day with Curious George

Fri, Sept 26, 6:30 pm - Eleanor Glewwe, Sparkers - Launch Party!

Sat, Sept 27, 10:30 am - Mike Wohnoutka, Little Puppy and the Big Green Monster - Launch Party!

Sat, Sept 27, 2:00 pm - Mary Losure, Backwards Moon - Launch Party! 

Mon, Sept 29, 6:30 pm - Brian Lies, Bats in the Band - Family event!

Tues, Oct 7, 6:30 pm - Lemony Snicket, "Shouldn't You Be in School?" - ticketed event 

Sat, Oct 11 - Twin Cities Book Festival - Confirmed touring authors include Marie Lu, Morgan Matson, Stephanie Perkins, and Jessica Day George.

Sat, Oct 18, 10:30 am - Molly Beth Griffin and Jennifer A. Bell (illus.), Rhoda's Rock Hunt - Launch Party!

Tues, Oct 21, 6:30 pm - Kendare Blake, Mortal Gods (Antigoddess #2) 

Sat, Oct 25, 10:30 am - Chris Monroe, Bug on a Bike - Launch Party!

Sun, Oct 26, 2:00 pm - Brian Farrey, The Grimjinx Rebellion - Launch Party!

Sat, Nov 8, 10:30 am - Navajo Storytime with Nancy Bo Flood and Dean Magraw

Sat, Nov 8, 2:00 pm - Third Annual Red Balloon Bookshop Poetry Party with Joyce Sidman and her new book, Winter Bees & Other Poems of the Cold

Sat, Nov 15, 4:00 pm - Caragh O'Brien, The Vault of Dreamers 

Sat, Nov 15 - Red Balloon Bookshop's 30th Birthday Bash!

 

 

Can't make it to a book event? 
Call today to have an autographed copy of the book set aside for you.

 
Complimentary Gift Wrapping &
Free Shipping on internet orders over $50