Welcome to Red Balloon


 
 
Events! at Red Balloon Bookshop


Chapter & Verse Book Club

Thursday, Aug 21, 6:30 pm

Chapter and Verse

Chapter & Verse is a national book club for children’s literature enthusiasts who wish to discuss children’s and young adult fiction, nonfiction, picture books, and poetry. They meet the third Thursday of every month at Red Balloon and are sponsored by Winding Oak. This month, members will discuss two books with history themes: One Came Home by Amy Timberlake and Leaving China by James McMullan. Let's talk about experiencing history through books!


Eileen Beha, The Secrets of Eastcliff-By-The-Sea - Launch Party!

Tuesday, Aug 26, 7:00 pm

Eileen Beha

Eileen Beha, author of the celebrated Tango: Tale of an Island Dog, is back with her newest book, and we’re throwing a party! In The Secrets of Eastcliff-by-the-Sea, a charming sock monkey named Throckmorton reunites a fractured family, in this simply remarkable novel in the tradition of The Velveteen Rabbit and The Penderwicks. We’ll hear about this new book, do sock monkey crafts and activities, and have refreshments and tons of fun!

Eileen Beha is a former middle school principal and graduate of Hamline University’s MFA in Creative Writing program. She lives in Minneapolis with her husband and their two dogs, Tango and Daisy. www.EileenBeha.com

 

More Upcoming Events... Details coming soon!

Sat, Sept 6, 10:30 am - Saturday Spanish Storytime

Sat, Sept 6, 2:00 pm - Shelley Tougas, The Graham Cracker Plot - Launch Party!

Thurs, Sept 11, 6:30 pm - Mac Barnett, Telephone

Sat, Sept 13, 10:30 am - Richard Scarry's Busytown Storytime with Children's Theatre Company

Sat, Sept 15, 6:30 pm - Teens Read Book Club

Tues, Sept 16, 6:30 pm - Kelly Barnhill, The Witch's Boy - Launch Party!

Thurs, Sept 18, 6:30 pm - Chapter & Verse Book Club

Sat, Sept 20, 10:30 am - Curiosity Day with Curious George

Fri, Sept 26, 6:30 pm - Eleanor Glewwe, Sparkers - Launch Party!

Sat, Sept 27, 10:30 am - Mike Wohnoutka, Little Puppy and the Big Green Monster - Launch Party!

Sat, Sept 27, 2:00 pm - Mary Losure, Backwards Moon - Launch Party! 

Mon, Sept 29, 6:30 pm - Brian Lies, Bats in the Band - Family event!

Tues, Oct 7, 6:30 pm - Lemony Snicket, "Shouldn't You Be in School?" - ticketed event 

Sat, Oct 11 - Twin Cities Book Festival - Confirmed touring authors include Marie Lu, Morgan Matson, Stephanie Perkins, and Jessica Day George.

Sat, Oct 18, 10:30 am - Molly Beth Griffin and Jennifer A. Bell (illus.), Rhoda's Rock Hunt - Launch Party!

Tues, Oct 21, 6:30 pm - Kendare Blake, Mortal Gods (Antigoddess #2) 

Sat, Oct 25, 10:30 am - Chris Monroe, Bug on a Bike - Launch Party!

Sun, Oct 26, 2:00 pm - Brian Farrey, The Grimjinx Rebellion - Launch Party!

Sat, Nov 8, 10:30 am - Navajo Storytime with Nancy Bo Flood and Dean Magraw

Sat, Nov 8, 2:00 pm - Third Annual Red Balloon Bookshop Poetry Party with Joyce Sidman and her new book, Winter Bees & Other Poems of the Cold

Sat, Nov 15, 4:00 pm - Caragh O'Brien, The Vault of Dreamers 

Sat, Nov 15 - Red Balloon Bookshop's 30th Birthday Bash!

 

 

Can't make it to a book event? 
Call today to have an autographed copy of the book set aside for you.

 
Complimentary Gift Wrapping &
Free Shipping on internet orders over $50