My Account

Calling My Name (Hardcover)

Calling My Name Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
On hand as of Nov 20 1:30pm
(*YA FIC)

This novel, told in narrative snapshots, is about a young African American girl, Taja. Growing up in Texas, Taja is the daughter of very religious parents. InCalling My Name, Taja experiences her first crush, first kiss, first love, and first heartbreak. She also struggles with her relationship with God, which is put to the test when she gets her first boyfriend. Calling My Name is a beautifully written debut novel that would be perfect for people looking for something to read after The Hate U Give or American Street.  — Kelsie (RBB Staff)

— From Calling My Name

Description


Calling My Name, by debut author Liara Tamani, is a striking, luminous, and literary exploration of family, spirituality, and self--ideal for readers of Jacqueline Woodson, Jandy Nelson, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Sandra Cisneros.

This unforgettable novel tells a universal coming-of-age story about Taja Brown, a young African American girl growing up in Houston, Texas, and deftly and beautifully explores the universal struggles of growing up, battling family expectations, discovering a sense of self, and finding a unique voice and purpose.

Told in fifty-three short, episodic, moving, and iridescent chapters, Calling My Name follows Taja on her journey from middle school to high school. Literary and noteworthy, this is a beauty of a novel that deftly captures the multifaceted struggle of finding where you belong and why you matter.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062656865
ISBN-10: 0062656864
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: October 24th, 2017
Pages: 320
Language: English