My Account

Otherworld (Kobo eBook)

Otherworld Cover Image
$10.99
Available Now

Description


“Full of high stakes, thrillers, and fantastic twists and turns, fans of *Ready Player One* are sure to love this addictive read.” —Buzzfeed.com
 
"A fantastic journey from start to finish." —Hypable.com
 
“A potent commentary on how much we’re willing to give up to the lure of technology.” —EW.com
 
New York Times bestselling authors Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller imagine a world in which you can leave your body behind and give into your greatest desires in the first book in a new trilogy perfect for fans of Ready Player One and James Dashner’s The Eye of Minds. The future is now. And the future is terrifying.

That’s how Otherworld traps you. It introduces you to sensations you’d never be able to feel in real life. You discover what’s been missing—because it’s taboo or illegal or because you lack the guts to do it for real. And when you find out what’s missing it’s almost impossible to let it go again.

There are no screens. There are no controls. You don’t just see and hear it—you taste, smell, and touch it too. In this new reality, there are no laws to break or rules to obey. You can live your best life. Indulge every desire.

It’s a game so addictive you’ll never want it to end. Until you realize that you’re the one being played. Welcome to Otherworld, where reality is dead. Step into the future. Leave your body behind.

The frightening future that Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller have imagined is not far away. *Otherworld* asks the question we'll all soon be asking: if technology can deliver everything we want, how much are we willing to pay?

“An engaging VR cautionary tale.” —The A.V. Club

"[A] **fast-paced** adventure." *Publishers Weekly*

"Authors **Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller keep the action nonstop.**” *Shelf Awareness*

Product Details
ISBN-13: 9781101939345
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: October 30th, 2017
Language: