Nutshell

All Scheduled Events in a Nutshell

 All events are FREE and at The Red Balloon unless otherwise indicated.

   Please note: Customers may bring one book from home to be autographed along with any new book(s) purchased at author appearances at The Red Balloon Bookshop.

Can't come to the book event you want?
Call to today to have an autographed copy of the book set aside for you.

~ 2011

September 3, Saturday at 10:30am
Baby story time encore with Sara Waters. Theme: Colors

September 10, Saturday at 10:30am
Story time with a Como Zoo Naturalist. Theme: TBA

September 11, Sunday at 1:00pm
Peter Brown, author and illustrator of You Will Be My Friend.
Then at 3:00pm
Juanita Havill, author of Call the Horse Lucky.

September 16, Friday at 7:00pm
Publication party for Kurtis Scaletta, author of Tanglewood Terror.

September 17, Saturday at 10:30am
Publication party for Derek Anderson, author & illustrator of  Happy Birthday Hamster.
Then at 2:00pm
Publication party for Pat Schmatz, author of Bluefish.

September 18, Sunday, 2:00-3:30pm
Curiosity Day - Celebrating Curious George
2:00pm Curious George stories with the WonderWeavers, storytellers, and costumed character.
2:30pm Curious George crafts with Ellen Ferrari, Book Artist & Storyteller.

September 22, Thursday at 7:00pm
Jon Scieszka, author of The Leviathan Series.

September 23, Friday at 7:00pm
Scott Westerfeld, author of SPHDZ.

September 24, Saturday at 10:30am
Bonny Becker, author of  Sniffles for Bear.

October 1, Saturday at 10:30am
Baby story time encore with Sara Waters. Theme: B & Bugs
Then at 2:00pm
Catherine Friend, author Barn Boot Blues.

October 2, Sunday at 2:00pm
Publication party for Anne Ursu, author of Breadcrumbs.

October 8, Saturday at 10:30am
Publication party for Chris Monroe, author and illustrator of Monkey with a Toolbelt and the Seaside Shenanigans.
 

October 14, Friday at 7:00pm
Publication party for Loretta Ellsworth, author of  Unforgettable.

October 16, Sunday at 2:00pm
Publication party for Alison McGhee, author of  Making Friends.

October 16, Sunday, Time to Be Announced
Caldecott Medal winner Brian Selznick,  author and illustrator of  Wonderstruck.
                         This will be a ticketed event; location to be announced.

October 21, Friday at 7:00pm
Publication party for John Coy, author of Love of the Game.

October 22, Saturday at 10:30am
Publication party for Katie Kirk, author and illustrator of Eli, No!.

October 28, Friday at 7:00pm
Monika Schroeder, author of My Brother's Shadow.

October 29, Saturday at 10:30am
Tom Angleberger, author Darth Paper Strikes Back

October 30, Sunday at 1:30pm - Grand Avenue Boo Bash
Pumpkin carving with David LaRochelle, author and master pumpkin carver.
Then at 2:00pm
Story time featuring
David LaRochelle's The Haunted Hamburger and Other Ghostly Stories.

November 5, Saturday at 10:30am
Baby story time encore with Sara Waters. Theme: Tickles

November 12, Saturday, 10:30am
Stephen Shaskan, author and illustrator of A Dog is a Dog.

November 19, Saturday at 10:30am
Llama Llama story time with both Wonder Weavers costume characters.

November 20, Sunday at 2:00pm
Chris Van Allsburg, Caldecott Medal winning illustrator.

                         This will be a ticketed event, held at The Fitzgerald Theater. 

November 27, Sunday, 2:00pm
Kevin Kling, author, and
Chris Monroe, illustrator of Big Little Brother.

December 3, Saturday at 10:30am - Grand Meander
Baby story time encore with Sara Waters. Theme: Counting

December 10, Saturday, 10:30am
Marianne Richmond, author of I Believe In You.