My Account

Staff Favorites

Picture Books

Staff Pick Logo
Balderdash!: John Newbery and the Boisterous Birth of Children's Books Cover Image
By Michelle Markel, Nancy Carpenter (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780811879224
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Chronicle Books - April 4th, 2017

What a fantastic book for kids who want to know more about books! Adults, too. John Newbery was a good man. We are all fortunate for his existence. The book's endpapers are beautiful. The illustrations are wonderful. I just want to hold this book all day. Even take it to bed with me! -- Julie (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
Life Cover Image
By Cynthia Rylant, Brendan Wenzel (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481451628
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Beach Lane Books - June 27th, 2017

This is a very versatile book. It's a picture book and perfect for children--beautifully illustrated. filled with animals. It's also a thoughtful book that will appeal to adults. It's about life, and the joy to be found in living, even when one hits the inevitable valley. It's a book about hope and wonder, taking one step at a time to appreciate all that life has to offer, and believing that even the darkest days don't last forever. -- Susan (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
Secrets I Know Cover Image
By Kallie George, Paola Zakimi (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781101938935
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Schwartz & Wade Books - May 23rd, 2017

In this sweet picture book, a young girl and her dog share little tidbits of wisdom--what she calls "secrets"--as they enjoy their day. I love how each secret leads to the next one. Did you know that "true treasure is a friend," and that "together, friends are ladders" (when that friend gives you a boost to reach a telescope box in the closet)? The illustrations are equally simple but dear; the soft colors and little details drew me in. What a lovely book to share with a special someone! -- Barb (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
She Persisted: 13 American Women Who Changed the World Cover Image
By Chelsea Clinton, Alexandra Boiger (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524741723
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Philomel Books - May 30th, 2017

Highlights thirteen women who refused to back down, whether it was in pursuit of their dreams or justice or knowledge. Each one is featured on a two-page spread, beautifully illustrated by Alexandra Boiger. The phrase "she persisted" appears in every essay, along with a quote from that particular woman. Chelsea Clinton has included some unusual heroines along with others more widely known. Great way to inspire young girls to stand up and be counted! -- Susan (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
Whobert Whover, Owl Detective Cover Image
By Jason Gallaher, Jess Pauwels (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481462716
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - July 18th, 2017

In this delightful who-who-dun-it, Detective Whobert Whover is on the case...of what happened to Perry the Possum! Whobert won't let anything distract him from solving the mystery...even the fact that there might not be much of a mystery at all! Absolutely hilarious, with delightful jokes hidden in the illustrations as well as the text. Perfect for any budding detective! -- Lily (RBB Staff)


Middle Grade

Staff Pick Logo
5 Worlds Book 1: The Sand Warrior Cover Image
By Alexis Siegel, Matt Rockefeller (Illustrator), Boya Sun (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781101935880
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - May 2nd, 2017

Oona Lee's sand magic has always been clumsy, accidentally destructive, a mess. Totally unlike her sister, a Chosen One who ran away on the eve of her destiny. But when Oona's home is attacked she must flee for her life, picking up a couple of friends along the way and discovering that maybe she's better at sand magic than anyone ever thought she could be. An exciting start to a new series, this delightful graphic novel has complex characters, a richly imagined world, and gorgeous illustrations.  -- Lily (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
Real Friends Cover Image
By Shannon Hale, LeUyen Pham (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781626727854
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: First Second - May 2nd, 2017

A painful reminder of what it was like to be in middle school. Shannon tells us what it was like to be a sister in the middle of girls, and what it was like to have a best friend abandon you for more popular friends. This would be a perfect book for kids who need to know they are not alone, and really, all will be right in the end. Life is good, it just takes a little work. Perfect for readers of Raina Telgemeier books.  -- Julie (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
Rules for Thieves Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481472746
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Aladdin Paperbacks - June 6th, 2017

Don't feel sorry for orphan-on-the-run Alli Rosco--she has what it takes to survive on the streets. Or so she thinks, until she runs afoul of the deadly magic-wielding authorities. Her only chance: join the Thieves Guild and gain some magic of her own. Alli's story grabbed me from the start and didn't let go--we're talking non-stop action & adventure here! This is what I call a perfect summer read--love it!  -- Barb (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
The Adventures of John Blake: Mystery of the Ghost Ship Cover Image
By Philip Pullman, Fred Fordham (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781338149128
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Graphix - May 30th, 2017

This is the first graphic novel from Philip Pullman, author of The Golden Compass. When young John Blake rescues Serena, a shipwrecked young girl who is his same age, Serena quickly learns that the ship she is now on, the Mary Alice, is a time traveling ghost ship. Add to the mix modern day scientists trying to understand this mysterious ship and a rich evil villain set on global domination and the result is a page turner. Pullman's story, along with Fred Fordham's art work, gives us two powerful, smart young heroes and an incredible world full of mystery, adventure, and lots of fast-paced action.  -- Holly (RBB Staff)


Young Adult

Staff Pick Logo
Now I Rise Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780553522358
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Delacorte Press - June 27th, 2017

The thrilling sequel to And I Darken, which takes place in the early Ottoman Empire and follows a female Vlad the Impaler. This book will tear at your heartstrings one moment and have you laughing the next. Alliances will be broken and new ones will be forged. This page-turner will keep you on the edge of your seat from start to finish. A must read.  -- Amy L. (Teen Book Club)


Staff Pick Logo
Pretty Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780448484174
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Grosset & Dunlap - July 4th, 2017

Pretty follows teen, Sophie, as she struggles through a troubling home life and growing up mixed-raced in a racially-fraught America. This was a very thought-provoking read, challenging readers to look beyond their racial biases and confront what it means to be beautiful.  -- Greta J. (Teen Book Club)


Staff Pick Logo
This Impossible Light Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399173721
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Philomel Books - June 6th, 2017

Ivy's world is changing faster than she can handle it. She went from having a complete family and a best friend to having a broken family and an absent friend. But it will all be okay if she can just get control. This book was described as beautifully raw and that is the perfect description. It shows the true progression of grief and mental health issues. The novel was heartbreaking and breathtaking at the same time. The book is written in verse which I usually stay away from, but it was well executed.  -- Claire W. (Teen Book Club)


Staff Pick Logo
Who's That Girl Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062447777
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Harper Teen - July 11th, 2017

Nattie McCullough-Schwartz: junior, allergic to strawberries, excellent at Latin, almost-kissed twice, actually-kissed never. When one of her almost-kisses writes a song about her that starts playing on every radio station, her usually-normal life turns topsy-turvy. And on top of everything, her good friend Zach (the other almost-kiss) starts acting really weird. Told in a fantastically-readable voice, this book is full of hilariously awkward conversations, rock concerts, and baked goods. Great for fans of The Only Thing Worse Than Me Is Youand Saving Hamlet.  -- Lily (RBB Staff)


Adult

Staff Pick Logo
Note to Self Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781501158018
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Atria Books - April 18th, 2017

Connor Franta is mostly known for his online presence--he has millions of followers on Twitter and Instagram, in addition to millions of subscribers on his Youtube channel. In his second memoir/autobiography, Connor uses a mixture of letters, photographs, journal entries, and poems to give readers a glimpse into his personal life. I was interested in reading this because Connor is from Minnesota, and his rise to fame via social media is fascinating to me. His photographs were perfectly paired with his writing, and I had a lot of fun learning about someone I didn't know much about. Highly recommended.  -- Kelsie (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
You Don't Have to Say You Love Me: A Memoir Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316270755
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Little Brown and Company - June 13th, 2017

I've spent my mornings with Sherman. That's how reading this book feels-I listen as he tells me his stories and poems, as he traces his growing up and works to understand his relationship to his mother, who had recently, and unexpectedly, died. He doesn't shy away from his own short-comings and complicities; his words are honest and heart-breaking and funny. When I finished the book, I wanted to hug him and thank him for being unflinching in his attempt to face himself, and for his willingness to be so open with us, his readers.  -- Joan (RBB Staff)