My Account

Staff Favorites

Picture Books

Newton's Rainbow: The Revolutionary Discoveries of a Young Scientist Cover Image
By Kathryn Lasky, Kevin Hawkes (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780374355135
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Byr) - April 18th, 2017

Newton's Rainbow is an easily-understood biography of Isaac Newton. It illuminates the mysteries of physics, telling us of Newton's quest to discover why the moon stays in the sky and doesn't crash to Earth. Or, how he realizes that a rainbow is seven different colors that form when white light passes through the prisms of raindrops. A very informative biography with illustrations by award-winner Kevin Hawkes. -- Julie (RBB Staff)


Pandora Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780544947337
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Clarion Books - April 4th, 2017

This picture book about a clever fox who cares for an injured bird is truly magical! Pandora knows how to repair almost anything, but she longs for someone to share her world. What will she do when her newfound friend flies away? (Spoiler alert: all ends well.) I love the sweet illustrations, too! What a lovely, gentle story--I just wish I had someone nearby with whom to share it!  -- Barb (RBB Staff)


Poor Louie Cover Image
By Tony Fucile, Tony Fucile (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763658281
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - April 11th, 2017

Cute chihuahua Louie has an ideal life. He is the center of attention in this family of three (mom, dad and dog) and everyday is perfect. Until....he starts seeing signs that Mom and Dad are having a baby and wait, not just one baby but two! Routines are changing. Louis is feeling forgotten and he knows it will only get worse. An adorable and funny "new-sibling" story!  -- Holly (RBB Staff)


Snail and Worm Again Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780544792494
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Houghton Mifflin - March 28th, 2017

Another Snail and Worm, and I am so excited! This is snorting-milk-out-the-nose funny. We were first introduced to the pair in Snail and Worm. Now we get to read how the two not-so- bright friends find ways to make life just a little bit better, and to make us just a little bit happier. -- Julie (RBB Staff)


Toad on the Road: A Cautionary Tale Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062393470
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: HarperCollins - May 16th, 2017

Stephen Shaskan knows how to make a book for storytime! Toad on the Road is full of the great rhymes, vibrant illustrations, funny jokes, and ample sound effects that are trademarks of his books. A great story to share with toddlers and preschoolers, or for the emerging reader to try on her own. -- Angela (RBB Staff)


Middle Grade

Catstronauts: Mission Moon Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780316307451
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 18th, 2017

Cats! Space! Sandwiches! In this delightful graphic novel, the four top catstronauts are sent on a brand new moon mission to build a solar power station that will fix earth's energy crisis. They train, they snack, they travel through space! Silly feline science is mixed with actual facts about the space program and its history, including a cameo by cat Neil Armstrong! Perfect for younger graphic novel fans or for anyone who loves space. -- Lily (RBB Staff)


Frogkisser! Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338052084
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Scholastic Press - February 28th, 2017

A fabulously funny story full of fractured fairy tales, frogs, dogs, and the coolest wizard EVER. Princess Anya doesn't particularly want to go on a Quest (or even a lowercase quest), but when her step-stepfather's evilness reaches new heights, it's up to her to save her sister, her kingdom, and the transformed animals she meets along the way. Layered throughout with serious questions about responsibility, privilege, and power, the book never turns boring or preachy, instead taking the reader on a hilarious romp of a ride that might teach them some important things along the way. Such a delight. -- Lily (RBB Staff)


Tina Nordstram's Recipes for Young Cooks: Kid-Friendly Tips and Tricks to Cook Like a Master Chef Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781510717060
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Skyhorse Publishing - May 2nd, 2017

This is a fabulous cookbook for more experienced young chefs--heck, I would try some of these recipes myself! This Swedish chef has a relaxed approach to cooking and she knows how to get kids (and grownups) excited about creating great eats in the kitchen. Yes, some of these dishes are not standard kid fare (e.g. mussels with French fries), but don't we all need to try new things. -- Barb (RBB Staff)


York: The Shadow Cipher Cover Image
By Laura Ruby, Dave Stevenson (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062306937
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Walden Pond Press - May 16th, 2017

Ciphers, skyscrapers, and airships, oh my! Theo, Tess, and Jamie live in an alternate NYC, in a building designed by a pair of eccentric inventors--the Morningstarr twins--whose steampunk creations still power the subway, keep the streets clean, and conceal a cipher that leads to an incredible treasure trove. When the kids' apartment building is bought by a developer who plans to demolish it, they decide to save it by solving the cipher, a decision that catapults them into a centuries-old mystery. The perfect book for history-buffs, master-puzzlers, kids facing a move, or anyone who likes to read wonderful books. I can't wait for Book 2!  -- Lily (RBB Staff)


Young Adult

Eliza and Her Monsters Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062290137
Availability: Not on our shelves now. Usually ships in 1-5 business days from warehouse.
Published: Greenwillow Books - May 30th, 2017

Eliza is the creator of a very popular online fantasy comic Monstrous Sea. Known as "LadyConstellation," she is anonymous to all but two of her readers, and spends her days drawing in her room or hanging out online in the forums--to the disdain of her athletic parents and brothers. This all changes when she meets Wallace, the quiet new kid at school, and a huge Monstrous Sea fan. Keeping her identity secret, Eliza and Wallace become close, bonding over their mutual love of the Monstrous Sea story. The longer Eliza hides, the more difficult it is for her to balance her online identity with her actual, real life identity. This book was cute, geeky, and perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell.  -- Kelsie (RBB Staff)


How to Make a Wish Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780544815193
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Houghton Mifflin - May 2nd, 2017

This book is about a bisexual girl girl named Grace, and her relationship with her alcoholic mother, Maggie; and a girl named Eva who's biracial and a lesbian, which I really appreciated. I absolutely adored this book and everything about it made me so happy. I highly recommend everybody read this book when it comes out in May because it was just that good. -- Sophia S. (Teen Book Club)


Nemesis Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399544934
Availability: Not on our shelves now. Usually ships in 1-5 business days from warehouse.
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - March 21st, 2017

Every two years, on her birthday, someone comes to murder Min, and then the next morning she always wakes up in same field, completely healed. Noah, on the other side of town, is just trying to fit in. I really enjoyed the suspense and complexity of this book. It kept you guessing at every turn. The book also included a decent amount of science which made the book so much better to read. I think anyone who enjoys books about conspiracy theories would enjoy this book.  -- Claire W. (Teen Book Club)


Queer, There, and Everywhere: 23 People Who Changed the World Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062474315
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: HarperCollins - May 23rd, 2017

A delightfully witty and well-researched book to remind teenagers that there have been wonderful, weird, and wise queer icons since the dawn of time. Written as a series of short biographies, this is the rare history book that you can pick up for a few minutes when you have time (although you might end up reading longer than you intended!). From those you haven't heard of (Elagabalus) to those you have (Eleanor Roosevelt), this book will widen your understanding of history both queer and otherwise. -- Lily (RBB Staff)


Adult

The Dude Diet: Clean(ish) Food for People Who Like to Eat Dirty Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062424389
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Harper Wave - October 25th, 2016

OMG! If this is "dieting", then sign me up! I want to cook the delectable Fiesta BBQ Chicken Nachos for my dude (who would eat pizza and ice cream at every meal if he could). I love that the recipes seem doable and actually are better for you than most "guilty pleasures" out there. What a great way to eat healthier while pretending to sin! -- Barb (RBB Staff)


The Best We Could Do: An Illustrated Memoir Cover Image
By Thi Bui
$19.95
ISBN: 9781419718779
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Abrams Comicarts - March 7th, 2017

I don't think there was a moment in this book when I didn't have tears in my eyes--from sorrow, from joy, from a mix of the two. Gorgeously rendered in graphic novel form, Bui's memoir covers an incredible range: the "long shadow" of grief and trauma, the history of Vietnam, the ways we inevitably fail our parents and our children. This is a story of families, of refugees, and of identity--one that would be needed in any moment, but especially now. 14+. -- Lily (RBB Staff)