My Account
Tue, 17 July | 10:30AM

Read Aloud Book Club Storytime for the big kids! Join bookseller Angela for a (mostly) song-free version of storytime geared at kids ages 4 - 8. We’ll share one or two longer picture books or shorter chapter books every week and enjoy an optional *bonus activity* before we go. Meeting for four consecutive weeks in July.

This week's theme: Spoooooooky Storytime with Creepy Pair of Underwear ...

Thu, 19 July | 6:30PM

Graphic Novel Book ClubWe're doing summer book clubs this year! 

Our Kids Read Book Club is becoming the Graphic Novel Book Club! This summer, join us to discuss a few exciting graphic novels, perfect for kids 8+.

This month's book is...

Tue, 24 July | 10:30AM

Read Aloud Book Club Storytime for the big kids! Join bookseller Angela for a (mostly) song-free version of storytime geared at kids ages 4 - 8. We’ll share one or two longer picture books or shorter chapter books every week and enjoy an optional *bonus activity* before we go. Meeting for four consecutive weeks in July.

This week's theme: Mysterious Happenings....Storytime with Whobert Whover: Owl...

Mon, 30 July | 6:30PM

LGBTQYA Book ClubWe're doing summer book clubs this year! 

June is pride month, so this summer we’re going to read three stories about queer teens and written by queer authors. Come hang out with bookseller Lily to discuss a few fabulous books--their representation, their storytelling, the way they made you cry (we’re looking at...

Take a look at a few new books we love
Click on "Staff Favorites" above to see a longer list

Picture Books

There seem to be lots of books out about mindfulness and relaxation for kids these days. I picked this one up because, as a new yoga student, I was curious what it had to say about breathing. I loved it because it actually has readers doing the breathing in just the right way, page by page. It's simple enough for a two-year-old and yet still useful for any age beyond. Bright illustrations accompany examples of when a person might want to practice mindful breathing. Light and fun and yet oh-so-helpful. — Susan


Middle Grade

An absolutely necessary read. When Diane Guerrero was just fourteen, her parents were deported, leaving her (an American citizen by birth) alone in an empty house. Her struggles to move forward from there are heartbreaking, and true of more families in the United States than any of us would like to imagine. This book puts a face on the ongoing conversation around undocumented immigrants--and shows us the true tragedies created by our policies. Read this book, cry with young Diane, and be inspired to get involved in changing the way we talk about immigration. — Lily


Young Adult

This is a novel best read beside an open window, with the breeze--preferably smelling of the ocean--blowing through your hair. Georgina has been waiting for her own manifestation of the quiet magic that runs through her family, but she's running out of time. Meanwhile, she's worried about her twin sister, their upcoming departure for college, and the financial future of the small island that she loves--and that is all she's ever known. When the mysterious and possibly-magical bird beloved by the community fails to show up on schedule, things take a turn. Part fantasy, part mystery, and part small-town story, this book is all lovely. Very atmospheric and perfect for fans of Bone Gap.  — Lily 


Adult

Kate Reddy is back in a new novel that is both hilarious and insightful. Readers first met Kate in I Don't Know How She Does It , where she was learning to manage young children, a job, a marriage, and a personal life. Now Kate's children are teens, her husband is unavailable, her parents and in-laws are elderly, she needs to get back into the workforce, and she's about to turn 50. This is a great read that many women will be able to relate to, and when their lives seem overwhelming, they can turn to Kate for a bit of fun. -Susan (RBB Staff)


Stay up-to-date on all that’s happening at Red Balloon

Sign up for our email list to receive our monthly newsletter and our event updates

Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and follow us on Pintrest