My Account
Thu, 21 June | 6:30PM to 8:00PM

Graphic Novel Book ClubWe're doing summer book clubs this year! 

Our Kids Read Book Club is becoming the Graphic Novel Book Club! This summer, join us to discuss a few exciting graphic novels, perfect for kids 8+.

This month's book is Kid Beowulf: The...

Thu, 21 June | 7:00PM

Red Balloon Bookshop's Graphic Novel Bookclub welcomes graphic novelist Alexis Fajardo to St. Paul! After visiting with members of the Graphic Novel Book Club, Alexis Fajardo will sign copies of his books and tell us all about his Kid Beowulf series, making comics, and his work as Senior Editor at Charles M. Schulz Studio.  Whether you're new to the series, or are planning on pre-ordering the...

Mon, 25 June | 6:30PM

LGBTQYA Book ClubWe're doing summer book clubs this year! 

June is pride month, so this summer we’re going to read three stories about queer teens and written by queer authors. Come hang out with bookseller Lily to discuss a few fabulous books--their representation, their storytelling, the way they made you cry (we’re looking at you,...

Tue, 26 June | 6:30PM

Wings of Fire: The Lost Continent party!It's coming: the new Wings of Fire book! Help celebrate the release of The Lost Continent by Tui T. Sutherland at Red Balloon Bookshop in St. Paul at our first ever Wings of Fire Party! Whether you're new to the series, have read all of the books 10...

Take a look at a few new books we love
Click on "Staff Favorites" above to see a longer list

Picture Books

Not since Charlotte has there been such a marvelous spider. I love this story about learning to accept the differences in others. Bear needs help and spider quietly comes to the rescue. Such a sweet, thoughtful book. Filled with the captivating illustrations of Jacob Grant. - Julie (RBB Staff)


Middle Grade

Evangeline is (hopefully) the next haunt huntress in a long line of them, being trained by her grandmother in the art of fighting banshees, grims, Acadian fang worms, and more. Her familiar hasn't shown up yet, but she's (mostly) sure it will soon, and then she'll be official. But when she and her grandmother are called into New Orleans for a new job, things start to get complicated...and scary. Evangeline isn't sure she can handle this job on her own, but she might have to, with or without her (still-absent) familiar. Exciting, a little spooky, and full of great characters. -Lily (RBB Staff)


Young Adult

This is an addictive, fast-paced mystery about the fallout of a friendship between acclaimed YA author, Fatima Ro, and four teens. Soleil, Penny, and Miri are so stoked to meet their favorite author that they drag their new friend Jonah along, too. That night, Fatima befriends them, and the group grows close. But, what follows is a dark friendship filled with secrets, lies, and backstabbing. Their story unfolds through a carefully organized collection of video interviews, journal entries, flashbacks, and excerpts from Fatima's latest novel. With Fatima MIA, Jonah in a coma, and the three girls in all major news headlines, the reader must help sift through the ruins of their fateful friendship to find out what happened. You will not want to put this one down--great for fans of Sara Shepard and E. Lockhart. -Kelsie (RBB Staff)


Adult

Kate Reddy is back in a new novel that is both hilarious and insightful. Readers first met Kate in I Don't Know How She Does It , where she was learning to manage young children, a job, a marriage, and a personal life. Now Kate's children are teens, her husband is unavailable, her parents and in-laws are elderly, she needs to get back into the workforce, and she's about to turn 50. This is a great read that many women will be able to relate to, and when their lives seem overwhelming, they can turn to Kate for a bit of fun. -Susan (RBB Staff)


Stay up-to-date on all that’s happening at Red Balloon

Sign up for our email list to receive our monthly newsletter and our event updates

Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and follow us on Pintrest