My Account
Sat, 28 April | 10:00AM to 6:00PM

Independent Bookstore DayIt’s time for the biggest, best bookstore party in the country: Independent Bookstore Day! Red Balloon Bookshop is celebrating all day long with exclusive Indie Bookstore Day merchandise,...

Mon, 30 April | 4:30PM to Fri, 4 May | 5:00PM

The Trouble With Chickens; The Great Red Balloon Read - AloudGet ready for The Great Red Balloon Read Aloud, a weeklong read aloud experience brought to you by your friendly neighborhood booksellers at Red Balloon Bookshop in St. Paul. This is not your baby sibling's storytime - we're reading a whole chapter book! Join us at...

Tue, 1 May | 6:30PM

(Authorless) Book Release Party: A COURT OF FROST AND STARLIGHTRed Balloon Bookshop's Teens Read Bookclub invites you to party with the Night Court in honor of the release of A Court of Frost and Starlight by Sarah J. Maas. Once you descend to the realm of the Night Court, you can test your ACOTAR trivia knowledge,...

Fri, 4 May | 6:30PM

May the Fourth Be With youMay the Fourth Be With you! Jedi, Sith, Rebels, Stormtroopers, diplomats, and other noncombatants are all are invited to our (semi) annual Star Wars Party. Enjoy an exclusive Sneak Peak Storytime featuring Adam Rex's Are You Scared, Darth Vader? (...

Take a look at a few new books we love
Click on "Staff Favorites" above to see a longer list

Picture Books

This lovely story reminds me of the Alice and Martin Provenson books. We are introduced to the people and animals of Philip Stead's life in the country. The most important animal being his dog Wednesday. She is there to chase the deer, and bark away the coyotes. Stead's captivating illustrations show us life in the country, and the story itself is emotional and joyful. I would recommend this for everyone. — Julie (RBB Staff)


Middle Grade

Peter & Ernesto are sloths and they are the best of friends. When Ernesto embarks on a journey to see more pieces of the sky, Peter must find the courage to leave the tree and make sure his friend is alright. The bright illustrations inside large, easy to follow panels make this funny and heartwarming graphic novel perfect for even the youngest comics fans.  — Angela (RBB Staff)


Young Adult

Life for Danny Cheng in Cupertino, California isn't too bad. Daniel's parents came to the United States from China before he was born, and everything is going just fine until he finds a mysterious box full of unexpected information in a closet at home. Soon after, his father is fired from his job, forcing their family to move out of Cupertino and away from Danny's friends and school. As he learns more about his parent's past, Danny must come to terms with his own guilt and desires for the future. This book is sweet, sad, honest, and the author didn’t shy away from difficult topics. Gilbert’s prose is reminiscent of Jandy Nelson, but this story would also perfect for fans of The Hate U Give and American Street.  — Kelsie (RBB Staff)


Adult

In this far-reaching re-telling of Greek mythology, Madeline Miller takes one of the more intriguing characters in the Odyssey--the witch Circe--and tells her whole story. Spanning the centuries between her birth and the fateful meeting with Odysseus, Miller spins a tale that grapples with the difficulties inherent in these characters and their stories while simultaneously giving them the room to exist as fully-fleshed beings. For those who were forced to read the Odyssey in high school and fans of Greek mythology alike, this book is a clever remix of the old stories that asks questions about mortality, humanity, legacy, and cycles of cruelty. — Lily (RBB Staff)


Stay up-to-date on all that’s happening at Red Balloon

Sign up for our email list to receive our monthly newsletter and our event updates

Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and follow us on Pintrest