My Account
05/25/2021 - 6:30pm


Just in time for summer, you're invited to a virtual launch party for Begin With a Bee—a fantastic new nonfiction picture book about the rusty-patch bumblebee, Minnesota's state bee! Join authors Liza Ketchum, Jacqueline Briggs MartinPhyllis Root, and illustrator Claudia McGehee as they share details from the making of...

06/01/2021 - 6:30pm

Lana Wood Johnson, SPEAK FOR YOURSELF - Virtual Launch Party! with Adib KhorramJoin us to celebrate the launch of local author Lana Wood Johnson's second young adult novel: Speak for Yourself! Lana will be in conversation with fellow author Adib Khorram. We'll listen to some presentations, answer some trivia questions, and listen...

Take a look at a few new books we love
Click on "Staff Favorites" above to see a longer list

Picture Books

This beautifully illustrated book is a celebration of the people, animals, and plants that call the Peruvian Amazon rainforest home, and a great story to share with any young animal lover. Zonia explores the forest, greeting a new animal friend on nearly every page and discovering that the forest needs her help. The book also includes fantastic backmatter with the species names of all of Zonia's animal friends, information about the rainforest, and a translation of the story into Asháninka, the language of Zonia's people. — Angela (RBB Staff)


Middle Grade

In this very sweet, often funny, and sometimes heartbreaking story, ten-year old Gabrielle has just moved to Brooklyn from Haiti and so desperately wants to fit in. When she meets a witch who promises to grant her three wishes, Gabrielle sees this as the way to make her new life easier and better. Or will it? Filled with elements of magic, wonderful glimpses into Haitian culture, and delightful characters, this story of immigration and identity will give readers much to think about and much to enjoy. — Holly (RBB Staff)


Young Adult

For new kids Jack and Jules, starting at a new school is the least of their worries. Jack is new to LA and still reeling from the loss of his best friend—she's not dead, just gone, and the only one who was there with him from the start of his transition. And Jules is struggling to fit in with his friends from the past, while also maintaining his strict mother's high expectations. After multiple chance encounters, Jack and Jules find that while they don't have much in common, they get along super well, despite the fact that their mutual interests, friends, family, distance, and internal struggles threaten to keep them apart. This is a character-driven coming of age story with a lot of heart. Great for fans of Adam Silvera and Tobly McSmith. TW: transphobia, homophobia. — Kelsie (RBB Staff)


Adult

A fabulously funny and sugar-sweet Great British Baking Show-inspired romcom from the author of the wonderful Boyfriend Material! When single mum Rosaline Palmer wins a spot on a baking competition show, it feels like this might be her once chance to figure out her life—get out of her unfulfilling job, stop relying on her uptight, conservative parents for financial assistance—but only if she can win the ten thousand dollar first prize. Distractions in the form of charming guys are NOT part of the recipe for success, but with two very different men showing interest, Rosaline will have to figure out where (and if) romance plays a part in her dreamed-of future. — Lily (RBB Staff)


Stay up-to-date on all that’s happening at Red Balloon

Sign up for our email list to receive our monthly newsletter and our event updates

Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and follow us on Pintrest