My Account

Rulers of the Playground (Hardcover)

Rulers of the Playground Cover Image
By Joseph Kuefler, Joseph Kuefler (Illustrator)
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Aug 15 2:45am
(*PICTURE)

Description


A stunning picture book about sharing, friendship, and kindness in a playground setting from Joseph Kuefler, the author/illustrator of Beyond the Pond. Perfect for fans of Jon Klassen and Oliver Jeffers.

One morning, Jonah decided to become ruler of the playground.

Everyone agreed to obey his rules to play in King Jonah’s kingdom . . .

Everyone except for Lennox . . . because she wanted to rule the playground, too.

A gloriously rendered, hilariously deadpan tale of playground politics.

About the Author


Joseph Kuefler is the author-illustrator of Beyond the Pond, Rulers of the Playground, and The Digger and the Flower. He lives in Minnesota with his wife and children. You can visit him online at www.josephkuefler.com.



Joseph Kuefler is the author-illustrator of Beyond the Pond, Rulers of the Playground, and The Digger and the Flower. He lives in Minnesota with his wife and children. You can visit him online at www.josephkuefler.com.

Praise For…


“Children struggling with tyrants (or the impulse to dictate) will find both laughter and comfort in Kuefler’s playground, full of recognizable experiences, faces, and feelings....winning satire for the jungle-gym set.”
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“[A] playful lesson in camaraderie and social etiquette”
— Booklist

Praise for BEYOND THE POND: “A witty, auspicious debut…[with] echoes of Jon Klassen and Wes Anderson.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Praise for BEYOND THE POND: “[A] tale of transformation and wonder…reminiscent of Sendak’s Max and his Wild Things.”
— School Library Journal

Praise for BEYOND THE POND: “This lovely picture book is a tribute to imagination and the wonder in everyday spaces…will resonate with young readers
— Booklist
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062424327
ISBN-10: 0062424327
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: April 18th, 2017
Pages: 48
Language: English