My Account

Invisible Emmie (Paperback)

Invisible Emmie Cover Image
By Terri Libenson, Terri Libenson (Illustrator)
$10.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Aug 15 2:45am
(*8 -12 GRAPHIC NOVELS)

Description


Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jennifer L. Holm, Invisible Emmie is a humorous and surprising debut graphic novel by Terri Libenson, creator of the internationally syndicated, Reuben Award-winning comic strip The Pajama Diaries.

This is the story of two totally different girls—
quiet, shy, artistic Emmie
popular, outgoing, athletic Katie
—and how their lives unexpectedly intersect one day, when an embarrassing note falls into the wrong hands. . . .

All the crushes, humiliations, boredom, and drama of middle school are compressed into one surprising day in this extraordinary novel.

And don't miss Terri Libenson's next book, Positively Izzy!

About the Author


As a kid, Terri Libenson was labeled a “good artist.” She’s thankful it was a nice label because it stuck. Since then, she’s acquired other nice ones, like “mom,” “writer,” and “unicycle daredevil” (okay, she wishes). Terri is the Reuben Award–winning cartoonist of the internationally syndicated comic strip The Pajama Diaries and was a longtime writer of humorous cards for American Greetings. Terri lives with her husband and two daughters in Cleveland, Ohio. You can find her online at www.terrilibenson.com.



As a kid, Terri Libenson was labeled a “good artist.” She’s thankful it was a nice label because it stuck. Since then, she’s acquired other nice ones, like “mom,” “writer,” and “unicycle daredevil” (okay, she wishes). Terri is the Reuben Award–winning cartoonist of the internationally syndicated comic strip The Pajama Diaries and was a longtime writer of humorous cards for American Greetings. Terri lives with her husband and two daughters in Cleveland, Ohio. You can find her online at www.terrilibenson.com.

Praise For…


“This is middle grade fiction at its best. A fantastic debut novel with plenty of laughs and tons of heart. Invisible Emmie is unforgettable!”
— Lincoln Peirce, author of Big Nate

“This funny and heartfelt tale will ring true for anyone who’s ever felt invisible.”
— Victoria Jamieson, Newbery Honor author-illustrator of Roller Girl

“Clever, funny work by a great cartoonist. Reading Invisible Emmie sums up middle school: You laugh, you cry, you get beaned in the head with a volleyball.”
— Stephan Pastis, author of Timmy Failure

“In her first children’s book, cartoonist Libenson offers strikingly different visions of seventh grade through two very dissimilar narrators. A well-executed twist will have readers flipping back to see what they missed while cheering the strides made by Libenson’s no-longer-invisible heroine.”
— Publishers Weekly

“With all-too-familiar middle-school drama and an empowering lesson about speaking up and bravely facing down embarrassment, this should find an easy audience among fans of Wimpy Kid or Dork Diaries books.”
— Booklist

“Many readers will recognize themselves in Emmie and her friends, who are at once self-conscious and eager to be seen for who they are. A highly relatable middle grade drama.”
— School Library Journal

“Libenson’s clever tale will entertain readers in the throes of middle school as well as younger students both wary of and intrigued by their near future.”
— The Horn Book
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062484932
ISBN-10: 0062484931
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: May 2nd, 2017
Pages: 192
Language: English