My Account

Summer of Salt (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Summer of Salt Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Jul 20 2:45am
(*YA FIC)

Staff Reviews


This is a novel best read beside an open window, with the breeze--preferably smelling of the ocean--blowing through your hair. Georgina has been waiting for her own manifestation of the quiet magic that runs through her family, but she's running out of time. Meanwhile, she's worried about her twin sister, their upcoming departure for college, and the financial future of the small island that she loves--and that is all she's ever known. When the mysterious and possibly-magical bird beloved by the community fails to show up on schedule, things take a turn. Part fantasy, part mystery, and part small-town story, this book is all lovely. Very atmospheric and perfect for fans of Bone Gap.  — Lily 

— From Summer of Salt

Description


Magic passed down through generations. An island where strange things happen. One summer that will become legend.

Practical Magic meets Nova Ren Suma’s Imaginary Girls and Laura Ruby’s Bone Gap in this lush, atmospheric novel by acclaimed author Katrina Leno.

Georgina Fernweh waits impatiently for the tingle of magic in her fingers—magic that has touched every woman in her family. But with her eighteenth birthday looming at the end of this summer, Georgina fears her gift will never come.

Over the course of her last summer on the island—a summer of storms, falling in love, and the mystery behind one rare three-hundred-year-old bird—Georgina will learn the truth about magic, in all its many forms.

Praise for Katrina Leno:

“Leno’s writing is flawless. Readers of all ages will find themselves swept away.” —VOYA

“Charming and sophisticated.” —Kirkus

“Crackles with wit, humor, and enormous love.”—Booklist (starred review)

“Introduces a fierce new presence.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Praise For…


★ “Equal parts fantasy, romance, and mystery, this book shimmers with an irresistible energy.”

★ “Sophisticated and complex. A necessary novel that is, at the same time, so enjoyable to read that teens will have to fight the urge to crawl into the pages.”

“A fanciful, whimsical novel. Leno mixes small-town island life and the loving bond between sisters with light magical elements as well as weightier issues that are examined with nuance and maturity.”
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062493620
ISBN-10: 0062493620
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: June 5th, 2018
Pages: 272
Language: English