My Account

The Collectors (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Collectors Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Oct 16 2:45am
(*8 - 12 Fiction)

Staff Reviews

People don't always see Van, but he sees everything, including the tiny things everyone misses: a dropped penny, a lost marble....a girl stealing coins out of a fountain. She's part of a secret society that collects wishes as soon as they're made and hides them away in a vault to keep them from coming true. Wishes are unpredictable--the Collectors just want to keep the world safe from their unintended consequences. But there's someone else who thinks wishes are meant to work--and it's not clear whose side Van should be on. Full of adventure, wonderful magic, and complex and rounded characters, this book will leave you eager for the sequel. And it's by a Minnesota author!  — Lily (RBB Staff)

— From The Collectors


Even the smallest wish can be dangerous. That’s why the Collectors are always keeping watch.

The Collectors sweeps readers into a hidden world where wishes are stolen and dreams have a price. Fast-paced, witty, and riveting, this contemporary fantasy adventure has magic woven through every page.

It's the first book in a two-book series from Jacqueline West, the New York Times–bestselling author of The Books of Elsewhere series. For fans of Serafina and the Black Cloak, The Isle of the Lost, and The Secret Keepers.

Van has always been an outsider. Most people don’t notice him. But he notices them. And he notices the small trinkets they drop, or lose, or throw away—that’s why his collection is full of treasures. Then one day, Van notices a girl stealing pennies from a fountain, and everything changes. He follows the girl, Pebble, and uncovers an underground world full of wishes and the people who collect them. Apparently not all wishes are good and even good wishes often have unintended consequences—and the Collectors have made it their duty to protect us. But they aren't the only ones who have their eyes on the world’s wishes—and they may not be the good guys, after all.  

Jacqueline West, author of the New York Times–bestselling Books of Elsewhere series, draws readers into a story about friendship, magic, and the gray area between good and evil. The Collectors is for fans of Cassie Beasley’s Circus Mirandus and Jonathan Auxier’s The Night Gardener.

About the Author

Jacqueline West is the author of the award-winning and bestselling Books of Elsewhere series. Her short fiction and poetry appear in a variety of publications. She is also a classically trained singer and an actress, and she still performs with local theatre troupes. She lives with her family in Red Wing, Minnesota.

Praise For…

“Original, brave, and addictive. West has created creatures cuddly and terrifying and hilarious, and a protagonist you will love. This is a world you’re going to want to return to long after the book is done.”
— Adam Gidwitz, bestselling author of the Newbery Honor book The Inquisitor’s Tale 

“The Collectors has the whole package -- a brilliant premise, a compelling hero, and a crackling sense of humor. It’s everything a young reader could wish for!”
— Jonathan Auxier, New York Times–Bestselling author of The Night Gardener 

“Magic and mystery lurk behind every shadow in this inventive, engrossing, and wonderfully strange adventure. In The Collectors, Jacqueline West gives readers a book to adore.”
— Anne Ursu, author of The Real Boy

The Collectors is made out of dangerous and delightful magic.”

— William Alexander, award-winning author of A Properly Unhaunted Place

“West captures Van’s curiosity and wonder for life, giving his personality an air of innocence…A brilliant fantasy adventure exploring the consequences of getting what you wish for.”
— ALA Booklist

“West has constructed a fast-paced and engrossing tale of a boy wrestling with the consequences of power and responsibility… Readers may not wish to leave this magical world”
— Kirkus Reviews

“A gentle, triumphant reminder that being different doesn’t correspond to weakness. First in a planned duology, West’s magical adventure offers humor and warmhearted adventure.”
— Publishers Weekly
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062691699
ISBN-10: 0062691694
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: October 9th, 2018
Pages: 384
Language: English