Store Hours:
Monday - Saturday: 10:00am - 7:00pm | Sunday: 12:00pm - 5:00pm

My Account

Pizza and Taco: Dare to Be Scared!: (A Graphic Novel) (Hardcover)

Pizza and Taco: Dare to Be Scared!: (A Graphic Novel) By Stephen Shaskan Cover Image
$10.99
Add to Wish List
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Apr 14 4:08pm
(*FIRST GRAPHIC NOVELS)

Description


Flashlights? Check! Scary movies? Check! Ghost Peppers?! Pizza and Taco are ready to prove they're brave as can be in their latest graphic chapter book! Nothing scares these besties...or so they say.

Pizza and Taco aren't afraid! To prove it, they dare each other to be scared. Dark closets and scary movies are a piece of cake—kind of. They're ready for the ultimate test—Ghost Pepper hunting! Pizza and Taco are sure they won't get scared...they made a list, after all! 

This hilarious young graphic novel—with chapters—will tickle the funny bones of kids ages 5-8 and bolster their reading confidence. Young graphic chapter books are a great step on the way to graphic novels and longer chapter books. Readers will also love the first five books in the series:
Who's the Best?
Best Party Ever!
Super-Awesome Comic!
Too Cool for School
Rock Out!

About the Author


STEPHEN SHASKAN has written and illustrated a dozen children's books in addition to his successful Pizza and Taco series. His debut picture book, A Dog Is a Dog, was a New York Public Library 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing Selection and was a CCBC Choices Book. He holds a BFA in illustration from Rhode Island School of Design, and worked with kids for twenty years as an early childhood educator and an after-school and summer art teacher. He performs musical storytimes, presents at schools, conferences, and festivals, and teaches comic classes to kids. Stephen lives with--and often collaborates with--his wife, author Trisha Speed Shaskan, in Minneapolis.

Praise For…


YAAAS! This lunch bunch serves pure silliness.” –Kirkus Reviews

"A perfect choice for early readers beginning their climb to Dog Man.” –Booklist

"Fans of Clanton’s Narwhal and Jelly series will find these foodie friends particularly appealing." –The Bulletin

"There’s plenty of gross-out humor for kids. Readers will relate to the joy and frustration of friendly competition, and the hilarity of watching an animated taco and slice of pizza do their best-friends dance is not to be missed. A delightful graphic novel for young readers." –School Library Journal


Kid praise for Pizza and Taco: Who's the Best?

"This book is really funny! I love this book, because...PIZZA!" –Charlie, age 7

"It's a great mix of friendship, competition, and delicious food!" –Shira, age 9
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593481288
ISBN-10: 0593481283
Publisher: Random House Graphic
Publication Date: June 27th, 2023
Pages: 72
Language: English
Series: Pizza and Taco