Store Hours:
Monday - Saturday: 10:00am - 7:00pm | Sunday: 12:00pm - 5:00pm

My Account

You Can Trust Me: A Novel (Hardcover)

You Can Trust Me: A Novel By Wendy Heard Cover Image
$28.00
Add to Wish List
Not on our shelves now. Usually ships in 4-7 business days from warehouse.

Description


In a “thriller with a sharp take on wealth and privilege” (People, Book of the Week), two best friends grift their way through the California elite—until one scam goes awry.

“A propulsive, sun-drenched adventure with smart, sharp commentary on wealth and power.”—Grace D. Li, New York Times bestselling author of Portrait of a Thief

A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR: PopSugar, Harper’s Bazaar, CrimeReads

Summer and Leo would do anything for each other. Inspired by the way each has had to carve her place in a hostile and unforgiving world, and united by the call of the open road, they travel around sunny California in Summer’s tricked-out Land Cruiser. It’s not a glamorous life, but it gives them the freedom they crave from the painful pasts they’ve left behind. But even free spirits have bills to pay. Luckily, Summer is a skilled pickpocket, a small-time thief, and a con artist—and Leo, determined to pay her own way, has learned a trick or two.

Eager for a big score, Leo catches in her crosshairs Michael Forrester, a self-made billionaire and philanthropist. When her charm wins him over, Leo is rewarded with an invitation to his private island off the California coastline for a night of fabulous excess. She eagerly anticipates returning with photos that can be sold to the paparazzi, jewelry that can be liquidated, and endless stories to share with Summer.

Instead, Leo disappears.

On her own for the first time in years, Summer decides to infiltrate Michael’s island and find out what really happened. But when she arrives, no one has seen Leo—she’s not on the island as far as they know. Plus, there was only one way on the island—and no way off—for the coming days. Trapped in a scheme she helped initiate, could Summer have met her match?

About the Author


Wendy Heard is the author of suspense and thrillers for adults and teens, including You Can Trust Me, The Kill Club, She’s Too Pretty to Burn, and Dead End Girls. Heard has spent most of her life in Los Angeles, which is on fire more than she would prefer, and she can often be found haunting local hiking trails and bookstores. She loves all things vintage and has a collection of thrillers and adventure books from the ’80s. You can hear more from Heard through her newsletter.

Praise For…


“[A] thrilling beach read with a bite.”Glamour

“A blazingly sharp, sexy, feminist thriller for those who wished The White Lotus season two was told from the POV of Mia and Lucia.”—Halley Sutton, author of The Hurricane Blonde

“With hell-for-leather pacing and anchored by a pair of con artists with genuine love for each other, You Can Trust Me is as addictive as it is original.”—Eliza Jane Brazier, author of Good Rich People

You Can Trust Me is scrupulously plotted with two of the most memorable protagonists I’ve read in a while. It is an absolute must-read.”—Kimberly Belle, internationally bestselling author of The Personal Assistant

“You’ll devour this dynamic, pulse-pounding tale. I loved it.”—Kaira Rouda, USA Today bestselling author of The Next Wife

“A breathless adventure!”—Wendy Walker, bestselling author of What Remains

You Can Trust Me had me hooked from the start. . . . Electric.”—Kate Alice Marshall, author of What Lies in the Woods

“I inhaled You Can Trust Me. Wendy Heard ratchets up the suspense, even before any bodies hit the floor. It’s a brilliant look at class, sex, gender, and more!”—Amina Akhtar, author of Kismet

“Wicked and whip-smart, You Can Trust Me is an absolute winner. Wendy Heard surprises at every turn with her skillful plotting, searing wit, and shrewd characters. This thriller is one irresistible ride from start to finish.”—Hilary Davidson, bestselling author of Her Last Breath

“This is one hell of a thriller about doing whatever it takes to survive, and the power of female friendship. I devoured, and loved, every single page.”—Hannah Mary McKinnon, internationally bestselling author of Never Coming Home

“Wendy Heard’s writing never disappoints and You Can Trust Me is no exception.”—Wanda M. Morris, award-winning author of All Her Little Secrets and Anywhere You Run

“Sharp and sexy . . . You Can Trust Me blends realistic character development and nail-biting heists, resulting in a tale of a most unique, potentially murderous alliance.”—BookPage

“Readers who enjoy an on-the-run thriller such as Adrian McKinty’s The Island or Wanda M. Morris’s Anywhere You Run, mixed with a dash of seduction, suspense, and twists, will enjoy this compelling tale.”Library Journal

You Can Trust Me has strong characterization and pacing and is a good recommendation for fans of Ruth Ware and Catherine Steadman.”—Booklist

“Heard smartly engages with questions of gender, privilege, and accountability in this rousing thriller . . . Readers will want to ride with Summer and Leo all the way to the end.”Publishers Weekly
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593599310
ISBN-10: 0593599314
Publisher: Bantam
Publication Date: June 13th, 2023
Pages: 304
Language: English