WELCOME!

My Account

Too Good to Be True: A Novel (CD-Audio)

Too Good to Be True: A Novel Cover Image
By Carola Lovering, Amy McFadden (Read by), Andi Arndt (Read by), Stephen Dexter (Read by)
$50.99
Email or call for price.

Description


ONE LOVE STORY. TWO MARRIAGES. THREE VERSIONS OF THE TRUTH. An obsessive, addictive love story for fans of Lisa Jewell and The Wife Upstairs, from the beloved author of Tell Me Lies.

Skye Starling is overjoyed when her boyfriend, Burke Michaels, proposes after a whirlwind courtship. Though Skye seems to have the world at her fingertips—she’s smart, beautiful, and from a well-off family—she’s also battled crippling OCD ever since her mother’s death when she was eleven, and her romantic relationships have suffered as a result.

But now Burke—handsome, older, and more emotionally mature than any man she’s met before—says he wants her. Forever. Except, Burke isn’t who he claims to be. And interspersed letters to his therapist reveal the truth: he’s happily married, and using Skye for his own, deceptive ends.

In a third perspective, set thirty years earlier, a scrappy seventeen-year-old named Heather is determined to end things with Burke, a local bad boy, and make a better life for herself in New York City. But can her adolescent love stay firmly in her past—or will he find his way into her future?

On a collision course she doesn’t see coming, Skye throws herself into wedding planning, as Burke’s scheme grows ever more twisted. But of course, even the best laid plans can go astray. And just when you think you know where this story is going, you’ll discover that there’s more than one way to spin the truth.

A Macmillan Audio production from St. Martin's Press

“Lovering, a master of manipulation to rival her own characters, does a skillful job of gradually unspooling her intricate tapestry of psychological intrigue while deftly juggling her multiple narratives.” -- Kirkus, starred review

About the Author


Carola Lovering is the author of Tell Me Lies, and her work has appeared in W Magazine, National Geographic, Outside, and Yoga Journal, among other publications. She graduated from Colorado College and currently lives in Connecticut with her family.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781250789846
ISBN-10: 1250789842
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Publication Date: March 2nd, 2021
Language: English