HOLIDAY HOURS

Sunday and Monday 12pm - 5 pm | Tuesday - Saturday 10 am - 7 pm

My Account

Beneath the Wide Silk Sky (Hardcover)

Beneath the Wide Silk Sky By Emily Inouye Huey Cover Image
$19.99
Add to Wish List
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Dec 2 7:33pm
(*TEEN FICTION)

Description


Stunning, devastating, poignant: Debut author Emily Inouye Huey paints an intimate portrait of the racism faced by America's Japanese population during WWII. Perfect for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Sharon Cameron.

Sam Sakamoto doesn't have space in her life for dreams. With the recent death of her mother, Sam's focus is the farm, which her family will lose if they can't make one last payment. There's no time for her secret and unrealistic hope of becoming a photographer, no matter how skilled she's become. But Sam doesn't know that an even bigger threat looms on the horizon.

On December 7, 1941, Japanese airplanes attack the US naval base at Pearl Harbor. Fury towards Japanese Americans ignites across the country. In Sam's community in Washington State, the attack gives those who already harbor prejudice an excuse to hate.

As Sam's family wrestles with intensifying discrimination and even violence, Sam forges a new and unexpected friendship with her neighbor Hiro Tanaka. When he offers Sam a way to resume her photography, she realizes she can document the bigotry around her -- if she’s willing to take the risk. When the United States announces that those of Japanese descent will be forced into "relocation camps," Sam knows she must act or lose her voice forever. She engages in one last battle to leave with her identity -- and her family -- intact.

Emily Inouye Huey movingly draws inspiration from her own family history to paint an intimate portrait of the lead-up to Japanese incarceration, racism on the World War II homefront, and the relationship between patriotism and protest in this stunningly lyrical debut.

About the Author


Emily Inouye Huey is the daughter, granddaughter, and great-granddaughter of Japanese Americans incarcerated during World War II. Her family was evacuated from their homes and farms in California and Washington. Her grandparents met and married in Wyoming's Heart Mountain Relocation Center, and her father was born in the camp hospital. When the war ended, the family was sent to Utah, where they started over and where Emily still lives, now with her husband and four children.

She holds an MFA in Creative Writing from Lesley University and teaches at Salt Lake Community College. You can visit her at emilyhuey.com or on Instagram at @emily_inouye_huey.

Praise For…


Praise for Beneath the Wide Silk Sky:

* "Huey imbues Sam’s narration with familiarity, creating an urgent immediacy that guides this insightful story, whose personal beginnings the author outlines in the creator’s acknowledgments." -- Publishers Weekly, starred review

Product Details
ISBN: 9781338789942
ISBN-10: 1338789945
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: October 18th, 2022
Pages: 336
Language: English