My Account

Picture Us in the Light (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Picture Us in the Light Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of May 22 3:45am
(*YA FIC)

Staff Reviews


Life for Danny Cheng in Cupertino, California isn't too bad. Daniel's parents came to the United States from China before he was born, and everything is going just fine until he finds a mysterious box full of unexpected information in a closet at home. Soon after, his father is fired from his job, forcing their family to move out of Cupertino and away from Danny's friends and school. As he learns more about his parent's past, Danny must come to terms with his own guilt and desires for the future. This book is sweet, sad, honest, and the author didn’t shy away from difficult topics. Gilbert’s prose is reminiscent of Jandy Nelson, but this story would also perfect for fans of The Hate U Give and American Street.  — Kelsie (RBB Staff)

— From Picture Us in the Light

Description


"Picture me madly in love with this moving, tender, unapologetically honest book."-Becky Albertalli, #1 best-selling author of Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Read the critically acclaimed novel that everyone is raving about
Danny Cheng has always known his parents have secrets. But when he discovers a taped-up box in his father's closet filled with old letters and a file on a powerful Silicon Valley family, he realizes there's much more to his family's past than he ever imagined.
Danny has been an artist for as long as he can remember and it seems his path is set, with a scholarship to RISD and his family's blessing to pursue the career he's always dreamed of. Still, contemplating a future without his best friend, Harry Wong, by his side makes Danny feel a panic he can barely put into words. Harry and Danny's lives are deeply intertwined and as they approach the one-year anniversary of a tragedy that shook their friend group to its core, Danny can't stop asking himself if Harry is truly in love with his girlfriend, Regina Chan.
When Danny digs deeper into his parents' past, he uncovers a secret that disturbs the foundations of his family history and the carefully constructed fa ade his parents have maintained begins to crumble. With everything he loves in danger of being stripped away, Danny must face the ghosts of the past in order to build a future that belongs to him.

About the Author


Kelly Loy Gilbert believes deeply in the power of stories to illuminate a shared humanity and give voice to complex, broken people. She is the author of Conviction, a William C. Morris Award finalist, and lives in the SF Bay Area. She would be thrilled to hear from you on Twitter @KellyLoyGilbert or at www.KellyLoyGilbert.com.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781484726020
ISBN-10: 1484726022
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Publication Date: April 10th, 2018
Pages: 368
Language: English