My Account

Gloria Takes a Stand: How Gloria Steinem Listened, Wrote, and Changed the World (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Gloria Takes a Stand: How Gloria Steinem Listened, Wrote, and Changed the World Cover Image
$17.99
Add to Wish List
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of May 25 2:15am
(*HIST - US)

Staff Reviews


A picture book overview of the life of Gloria Steinem whose independent thinking launched a revolution. She learned from childhood to listen (and become a good and careful listener), to dream (which she thought of as a form of planning), and to speak (which, in the beginning, was difficult for her). She also questioned, learned, believed, marched, and wrote about her ideas. Her greatest idea as a feminist was that all people should have equal opportunities. An inspiring and accessible book complete with detailed author's note, a timeline, and a short bibliography. Lovely illustrations by Daria Peoples-Riley. — Susan (RBB Staff)

— From Gloria Takes a Stand

Description


Perfect for fans of I Dissent comes an inspirational and empowering account of the life of women's rights icon Gloria Steinem.

As a young girl, Gloria Steinem thought for herself and spoke her mind. She read many books by her favorite authors and imagined herself as the heroine of the story.

Gloria wished. She read. And imagined.

But Gloria grew up during a time when women were not encouraged, or even allowed, to do a lot of the things men could do: go to college, get a job, open a bank account, and more. There were restrictions that made it impossible for women to be independent or equal to men. So, Gloria set out to change that . . .

Gloria listened. She watched. And wrote.
Gloria believed. She marched. And dreamed.

From unconventional childhood, to Smith College, to Ms. magazine, to the women's liberation movement, to feminist icon--Gloria Takes a Stand brings to the page a spirited look at Gloria Steinem's influential life, energizing a new generation of feminists to stand up and demand equal rights for all people.

About the Author


Jessica M. Rinker has a BA in social welfare from Bloomsburg University and an MFA in writing for children and young adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. She's a freelance writer and the author of several award-winning essays, poems, and short stories. By listening to people--real or fictional--and telling their stories, Jess hopes to make change in the world just as Gloria has. She has three kids and currently lives in New Jersey with her husband, also a children's author.
@jm_rinker

Daria Peoples-Riley makes children's books with a few inspirational words and a whole lot of colorful paint. She is a former 6th grade teacher who hopes to change the world one book at a time. She has also illustrated This Is It.
www.dariapeoples.com
@DariaPeoples

Praise For…


“A great read for younger kids who want to be inspired to make positive change in the world. Pair it with Debbie Levy's I Dissent: Ruth Bader Ginsburg Makes Her Mark. . . . An excellent picture book biography about a courageous activist, advocate, and leader.” —School Library Journal

“Filled with bright pop art and thought-provoking images, patterns, and styles that transform as the years pass, Gloria's story will inspire a new generation to follow their dreams and fight for equality.” —Foreword Reviews

“A tribute to feminist icon, activist, and writer Gloria Steinem. . . . Engaging.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Give[s] a new generation background into Gloria Steinem's life and influence.” —School Library Connection

“Adding to the growing, yet still needed, #MeToo books for young readers . . . Textured and digitally enhanced mixed-media illustrations evoke the diversity she celebrated.” —Booklist

Product Details
ISBN: 9781681196763
ISBN-10: 168119676X
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's Books
Publication Date: March 12th, 2019
Pages: 48
Language: English