HOLIDAY HOURS

Sunday and Monday 12pm - 5 pm | Tuesday - Saturday 10 am - 7 pm

My Account

When the Sky Falls (Kobo eBook)

When the Sky Falls By Phil Earle Cover Image
$5.99
Available Now

Description


A boy and a gorilla create an unbelievable bond in this powerful WWII tale for young readers, for fans of Alan Gratz and Michael Morpugo.

“A wonderful story of hurt, kindness, and what it means to be human in an inhumane world.” -The Times of London, Children's Book of the Year

In 1940, with his father off to war, Joseph is sent on a train out of his British town into the care of Mrs. F., a gruff woman with no great fondness for children. But he soon discovers her softer side when she takes him to the rundown city zoo and he learns she is the only one who ever checks in on it.

Many of the animals have escaped, been released, or have sadly starved . . . but not Adonis, a huge silverback gorilla. Adonis is strong and ferocious-and a danger to the whole city if a bomb should fall and damage the fence that keeps him in. But as Joseph struggles in his new school and starts to spend more time at the zoo, he finds, unexpectedly, Adonis becoming a loyal new friend.

From acclaimed author Phil Earle comes a touching historical fiction story of how a boy and a gorilla find redemption in each other amid the toughest of circumstances.

Children's Fiction Book of the Year Winner at the British Book Awards

Product Details
ISBN-13: 9781547609833
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's Books
Publication Date: April 4th, 2022
Language: