My Account

Staff Favorites

Picture Books

Staff Pick Logo
Archie and the Bear Cover Image
By Zanni Louise, David Mackintosh (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781328973412
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Clarion Books - September 18th, 2018

As a mom of someone who spent age three as a racoon and age four as a dog, I immediately connected with and loved this book. Archie knows he is a bear, although most people think he is a boy in a bear suit. And then he meets a bear who knows he is a boy, although Archie can see he is really a bear in a boy suit. Together they do all sorts of bear and boy things, like eating honey sandwiches, fishing, and reading stories. A truly delightful and and imaginative tale about friendship and being true to yourself.  — Holly (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
Bear's Scare Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781681197203
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - June 12th, 2018

Not since Charlotte has there been such a marvelous spider. I love this story about learning to accept the differences in others. Bear needs help and spider quietly comes to the rescue. Such a sweet, thoughtful book. Filled with the captivating illustrations of Jacob Grant. - Julie (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
Dreamers Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780823440559
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Neal Porter Books - September 4th, 2018

Beautiful, moving story of a young Dreamer, and the power books have to make her a place to belong. Incredible illustrations, and simple, powerful words that evoke the compassion in us. — Joan (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
Geraldine Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781626723597
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Roaring Brook Press - June 26th, 2018

This is the sweetest story about Geraldine who moves to a new school and feels so different from the other students (who are not used to having a giraffe in their classroom!) She eventually meets up with another student, also different in that she organizes her food, likes math, and wears glasses. They develop a mutual admiration, which they then share with the other school children. The book is realistic (not all days are good ones), while providing a positive message and a way for kids to view and handle differences. And the illustrations are delightful! — Susan (RBB Staff)


Middle Grade

Staff Pick Logo
A Festival of Ghosts Cover Image
By William Alexander, Kelly Murphy (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481469180
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - August 7th, 2018

The ghosts have returned to Ingot, and it's Rosa's job to appease the ones in the school to make it safe. When a handful of kids, and the principal, have their voices stolen by a water fountain, it's up to Rosa and her friend Jasper (who is also trying to save the town's Renaissance Festival) to figure out why, and how to get them back. Strong writing, great characters, and an underlying thoughtfulness about what it means when we try to erase history. But it's Rosa I love the best, who is undaunted by bullies and ghosts because she has a job to get done.  — Joan (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
The Mac Undercover (Mac B., Kid Spy #1) Cover Image
By Mac Barnett, Mike Lowery (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338143591
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Orchard Books - September 11th, 2018

A hilarious addition to the world of first chapter books, Mac Undercover is the story of author Mac Barnett's totally real past as a spy for the Queen of England. When the Crown Jewels are stolen, it's up to Mac to get them back, armed only with his one pair of perfect blue jeans, a mostly-useless corgi, a GameBoy, and a pair of night-vision sunglasses. Very funny (and secretly about a little more than spy hijinks), this is the perfect book for the budding mystery fan.  — Lily (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
My Family Divided: One Girl's Journey of Home, Loss, and Hope Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250134868
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - July 17th, 2018

An absolutely necessary read. When Diane Guerrero was just fourteen, her parents were deported, leaving her (an American citizen by birth) alone in an empty house. Her struggles to move forward from there are heartbreaking, and true of more families in the United States than any of us would like to imagine. This book puts a face on the ongoing conversation around undocumented immigrants--and shows us the true tragedies created by our policies. Read this book, cry with young Diane, and be inspired to get involved in changing the way we talk about immigration. — Lily


Staff Pick Logo
The Collectors Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062691699
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Greenwillow Books - October 9th, 2018

People don't always see Van, but he sees everything, including the tiny things everyone misses: a dropped penny, a lost marble....a girl stealing coins out of a fountain. She's part of a secret society that collects wishes as soon as they're made and hides them away in a vault to keep them from coming true. Wishes are unpredictable--the Collectors just want to keep the world safe from their unintended consequences. But there's someone else who thinks wishes are meant to work--and it's not clear whose side Van should be on. Full of adventure, wonderful magic, and complex and rounded characters, this book will leave you eager for the sequel. And it's by a Minnesota author!  — Lily (RBB Staff)


Young Adult

Staff Pick Logo
Black Wings Beating (The Skybound Saga #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780374306823
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - September 25th, 2018

For generations, ravens, hawks, and other birds of prey have been tamed and groomed into human companions...and weapons. Twins Kylee and Brysen have spent their whole lives training in the bird business. However, Brysen runs off to the battle pits or to his boyfriend most nights, so Kylee is left to shoulder the weight of the business on her own. All she has to do is finish paying off her father's debts and then she'll be free, but when Brysen takes on an impossible task--to trap a ghost eagle in order to save his boyfriend's life--Kylee decides to follow him. On a race to the top of the mountain where the ghost eagle resides, Kylee and Brysen run into friends and foes alike, and nothing can prepare them for what they find at the end of their adventure. Readers will be begging for a sequel as soon as they turn the last page. —Kelsie (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
Illegal Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781492665823
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky - August 7th, 2018

Two young brothers, Ebo and Kwame, are determined to leave their desperate living conditions in Ghana and find a better life in Europe. Their journey is filled with unimaginable challenges, but Ebo and Kwame are incredibly resourceful boys. Somehow they never lose the hope that life will get better. This is a page turner that is powerful, eye-opening, and heartbreaking. An important read for both teens and adults. — Holly (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
Summer of Salt Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062493620
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: HarperTeen - June 5th, 2018

This is a novel best read beside an open window, with the breeze--preferably smelling of the ocean--blowing through your hair. Georgina has been waiting for her own manifestation of the quiet magic that runs through her family, but she's running out of time. Meanwhile, she's worried about her twin sister, their upcoming departure for college, and the financial future of the small island that she loves--and that is all she's ever known. When the mysterious and possibly-magical bird beloved by the community fails to show up on schedule, things take a turn. Part fantasy, part mystery, and part small-town story, this book is all lovely. Very atmospheric and perfect for fans of Bone Gap.  — Lily 


Staff Pick Logo
What If It's Us Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062795250
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: HarperTeen - October 9th, 2018

When Ben and Arthur meet at a NYC post office one day in July, it feels like fate. So, when a literal flash mob tears them apart before they are able to exchange names or phone numbers, Arthur sets out to find the cute boy in the coffee shop t-shirt. But Arthur is going back home to Georgia in a few weeks, so it might not even be worth it. But what if it is? Told in alternating chapters, dream team Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera tell the story of two boys, fighting against all odds to find each other again. Full of nerdy musical references and charming (and awkward) firsts, this lived up to all of my expectations! A must read for YA fans.  — Kelsie (RBB Staff)


Adult

Staff Pick Logo
CIRCE (#1 New York Times bestseller) Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316556347
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Little, Brown and Company - April 10th, 2018

In this far-reaching re-telling of Greek mythology, Madeline Miller takes one of the more intriguing characters in the Odyssey--the witch Circe--and tells her whole story. Spanning the centuries between her birth and the fateful meeting with Odysseus, Miller spins a tale that grapples with the difficulties inherent in these characters and their stories while simultaneously giving them the room to exist as fully-fleshed beings. For those who were forced to read the Odyssey in high school and fans of Greek mythology alike, this book is a clever remix of the old stories that asks questions about mortality, humanity, legacy, and cycles of cruelty. — Lily (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
Unsheltered: A Novel Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9780062684561
Availability: Not on our shelves now. Usually ships in 1-5 business days from warehouse.
Published: Harper - October 16th, 2018

I have been a fan of Barbara Kingsolver’s books ever since reading The Bean Trees decades ago. So of course I was excited to pick up her newest book. InUnsheltered , we follow the stories of two families living in the same poorly-constructed house but a century apart. Both families have made all the “right” decisions to create a life a security, but find themselves at a time and place where that security is falling apart. Through their stories, Kingsolver weaves together family, history, science, and social commentary. As with her other books, Kingsolver gives us great characters, rich storytelling, and plenty to think about.  — Holly (RBB Staff)