My Account

Staff Favorites

Picture Books

Staff Pick Logo
All the Animals Where I Live Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781626726567
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Roaring Brook Press - March 20th, 2018

This lovely story reminds me of the Alice and Martin Provenson books. We are introduced to the people and animals of Philip Stead's life in the country. The most important animal being his dog Wednesday. She is there to chase the deer, and bark away the coyotes. Stead's captivating illustrations show us life in the country, and the story itself is emotional and joyful. I would recommend this for everyone. — Julie (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
Baby Monkey, Private Eye Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338180619
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Scholastic Press - February 27th, 2018

Babies are cute. Monkeys are cute. Put those two together with Brian Selznick’s art work and you have a silly and incredibly delightful new beginning reader/ picture book. Each chapter is a new case for Baby Monkey to solve. Hilarious bonus material at the end includes a picture key to Baby Monkey’s office, an index, and a bibliography. Readers of all ages will be shouting, “Hooray for Baby Monkey!”   — Holly (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
Everybunny Count! Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534400146
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - January 16th, 2018

A delightful new counting adventure starring fox and the bunnies from Everybunny Play! The critters enjoy a lovely woodland hide and seek game that helps little readers count up to 10. The bright, high-contrast illustrations and tight rhyming narration make this a great readaloud with ample story extension opportunities. — Angela (RBB Staff)


Middle Grade

Staff Pick Logo
Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316515467
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 6th, 2018

Ivy Aberdeen's whole life feels like it's falling apart. Her sister seems to have changed, her parents are distracted with a pair of new babies, Ivy is starting to question who she is, and a tornado has just ripped through their town, destroying their home and everything in it. With her life balanced on the shakiest of foundations, Ivy discovers she might be developing a crush on one of her classmates--a girl. This book is for all the kids starting to question their identities and for all their friends who don't quite understand what that feels like. — Lily (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
Just Like Jackie Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062652911
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: HarperCollins - January 2nd, 2018

Robinson is the kind of girl we all applaud--strong, and unafraid to stand up to a bully. But the adults around her don't think it's so cool when that means punching said bully in the nose. She would resist teachers' efforts to teach her anger control, except her grandfather, who is her legal guardian, is beginning to have trouble remembering things. What will happen when he injures himself, and she's barely able to keep him from wandering off into the wood? Characters you really care about, and a satisfactory resolution, even though we, as adult readers, know that other changes in Robison's life are inevitable.  — Joan (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
Peter & Ernesto: A Tale of Two Sloths Cover Image
By Graham Annable, Graham Annable (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781626725614
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: First Second - April 10th, 2018

Peter & Ernesto are sloths and they are the best of friends. When Ernesto embarks on a journey to see more pieces of the sky, Peter must find the courage to leave the tree and make sure his friend is alright. The bright illustrations inside large, easy to follow panels make this funny and heartwarming graphic novel perfect for even the youngest comics fans.  — Angela (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
Until Tomorrow, Mr. Marsworth Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399161933
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - April 3rd, 2018

 

Mr. Marsworth succumbs to the charm, determination, and moxie of Reenie Kelly and reluctantly becomes pen-pals with the 11 year-old. In the complicated setting of small town Minnesota during the Vietnam War, the two form a relationship based in the hard work of peace, friendship, and family. — Sarah


Young Adult

Staff Pick Logo
Long Way Down Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481438254
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Atheneum Books - October 24th, 2017

The spare verse is perfectly suited to the setting and the visceral emotions of the story. This was intense and fantastic and you should read it right now.     — Angela (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
Picture Us in the Light Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781484726020
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Disney-Hyperion - April 10th, 2018

Life for Danny Cheng in Cupertino, California isn't too bad. Daniel's parents came to the United States from China before he was born, and everything is going just fine until he finds a mysterious box full of unexpected information in a closet at home. Soon after, his father is fired from his job, forcing their family to move out of Cupertino and away from Danny's friends and school. As he learns more about his parent's past, Danny must come to terms with his own guilt and desires for the future. This book is sweet, sad, honest, and the author didn’t shy away from difficult topics. Gilbert’s prose is reminiscent of Jandy Nelson, but this story would also perfect for fans of The Hate U Give and American Street.  — Kelsie (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
The Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481498548
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Simon Pulse - February 6th, 2018

Elena Mendoza is the product of a non-miraculous, scientifically-explained virgin birth. Or so she thinks, until the girl she's had a crush on gets shot and Elena is able to heal her with just a touch of her hand. Plus, the Starbucks logo has recently started talking to her. According to it, the world is ending, and only Elena can do something about it. So begins a story about humanity and choice and the apocalypse--not just Elena's, but all of ours. Smart and thoughtful and diverse, this is a book for 2018, and for all of us who are struggling to survive in a world that feels increasingly broken.  — Lily (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
The Beauty That Remains Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524715878
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Delacorte Press - March 6th, 2018

Music brought Logan, Shay, and Autumn together at one point, but after a failed performance at a competition, they drift away from one another. A year later, each of them are struggling with the loss of loved ones. Logan turns to alcohol and he can't seem to keep his life together, much less a new band. Shay keeps running--both literally and metaphorically--from her friends. And Autumn is stuck sending messages into the void instead of actually talking to her family. When music tries to pull them together again, they find they have to learn how to move on first.   — Kelsie (RBB Staff)


Adult

Staff Pick Logo
Circe Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316556347
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Little Brown and Company - April 10th, 2018

In this far-reaching re-telling of Greek mythology, Madeline Miller takes one of the more intriguing characters in the Odyssey--the witch Circe--and tells her whole story. Spanning the centuries between her birth and the fateful meeting with Odysseus, Miller spins a tale that grapples with the difficulties inherent in these characters and their stories while simultaneously giving them the room to exist as fully-fleshed beings. For those who were forced to read the Odyssey in high school and fans of Greek mythology alike, this book is a clever remix of the old stories that asks questions about mortality, humanity, legacy, and cycles of cruelty. — Lily (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
The French Girl Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780399586934
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Berkley Books - February 20th, 2018

An idyllic farmhouse in the French countryside. Young, vacationing Oxford students. Murder. A decade later a body is found in the farmhouse well, and the young students, now ten years older and living their lives, some successful, some not, must come to terms with what really happened that one summer night. Excellent murder mystery. Loved it! — Julie (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
The Origin of Others (Charles Eliot Norton Lectures #56) Cover Image
By Toni Morrison, Ta-Nehisi Coates (Foreword by)
$22.95
ISBN: 9780674976450
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Harvard University Press - September 18th, 2017

The Origin of Others is a cogent and timely assessment of the ways we form our ideas of who is Other—and lesser. Morrison draws on her own experience, as well as on history and literature, making this her most personal collection so far. I found this the most interesting when she looks at her own novels, especially Paradise and Beloved, and her analysis of globalization was particularly helpful. A slim volume, packed with things that make me re-consider my own ideas. — Joan (RBB Staff)