My Account

Staff Favorites

Picture Books

Staff Pick Logo
Bear's Scare Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781681197203
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - June 12th, 2018

Not since Charlotte has there been such a marvelous spider. I love this story about learning to accept the differences in others. Bear needs help and spider quietly comes to the rescue. Such a sweet, thoughtful book. Filled with the captivating illustrations of Jacob Grant. - Julie (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
Geraldine Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781626723597
Availability: Not on our shelves now. Usually ships in 1-5 business days from warehouse.
Published: Roaring Brook Press - June 26th, 2018

This is the sweetest story about Geraldine who moves to a new school and feels so different from the other students (who are not used to having a giraffe in their classroom!) She eventually meets up with another student, also different in that she organizes her food, likes math, and wears glasses. They develop a mutual admiration, which they then share with the other school children. The book is realistic (not all days are good ones), while providing a positive message and a way for kids to view and handle differences. And the illustrations are delightful! — Susan (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
My Magic Breath: Finding Calm Through Mindful Breathing Cover Image
By Nick Ortner, Nick Ortner (Illustrator), Alison Taylor, Michelle Polizzi (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062687760
Availability: Not on our shelves now. Usually ships in 1-5 business days from warehouse.
Published: HarperCollins - May 15th, 2018

There seem to be lots of books out about mindfulness and relaxation for kids these days. I picked this one up because, as a new yoga student, I was curious what it had to say about breathing. I loved it because it actually has readers doing the breathing in just the right way, page by page. It's simple enough for a two-year-old and yet still useful for any age beyond. Bright illustrations accompany examples of when a person might want to practice mindful breathing. Light and fun and yet oh-so-helpful. — Susan


Middle Grade

Staff Pick Logo
A Festival of Ghosts Cover Image
By William Alexander, Kelly Murphy (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481469180
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - August 7th, 2018

The ghosts have returned to Ingot, and it's Rosa's job to appease the ones in the school to make it safe. When a handful of kids, and the principal, have their voices stolen by a water fountain, it's up to Rosa and her friend Jasper (who is also trying to save the town's Renaissance Festival) to figure out why, and how to get them back. Strong writing, great characters, and an underlying thoughtfulness about what it means when we try to erase history. But it's Rosa I love the best, who is undaunted by bullies and ghosts because she has a job to get done.  — Joan (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
Evangeline of the Bayou Cover Image
By Jan Eldredge, Joseph Kuefler (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062680341
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 1st, 2018

Evangeline is (hopefully) the next haunt huntress in a long line of them, being trained by her grandmother in the art of fighting banshees, grims, Acadian fang worms, and more. Her familiar hasn't shown up yet, but she's (mostly) sure it will soon, and then she'll be official. But when she and her grandmother are called into New Orleans for a new job, things start to get complicated...and scary. Evangeline isn't sure she can handle this job on her own, but she might have to, with or without her (still-absent) familiar. Exciting, a little spooky, and full of great characters. -Lily (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
My Family Divided: One Girl's Journey of Home, Loss, and Hope Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250134868
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - July 17th, 2018

An absolutely necessary read. When Diane Guerrero was just fourteen, her parents were deported, leaving her (an American citizen by birth) alone in an empty house. Her struggles to move forward from there are heartbreaking, and true of more families in the United States than any of us would like to imagine. This book puts a face on the ongoing conversation around undocumented immigrants--and shows us the true tragedies created by our policies. Read this book, cry with young Diane, and be inspired to get involved in changing the way we talk about immigration. — Lily


Young Adult

Staff Pick Logo
All of This Is True: A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062673657
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: HarperTeen - May 15th, 2018

This is an addictive, fast-paced mystery about the fallout of a friendship between acclaimed YA author, Fatima Ro, and four teens. Soleil, Penny, and Miri are so stoked to meet their favorite author that they drag their new friend Jonah along, too. That night, Fatima befriends them, and the group grows close. But, what follows is a dark friendship filled with secrets, lies, and backstabbing. Their story unfolds through a carefully organized collection of video interviews, journal entries, flashbacks, and excerpts from Fatima's latest novel. With Fatima MIA, Jonah in a coma, and the three girls in all major news headlines, the reader must help sift through the ruins of their fateful friendship to find out what happened. You will not want to put this one down--great for fans of Sara Shepard and E. Lockhart. -Kelsie (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
Illegal Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781492665823
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky - August 7th, 2018

Two young brothers, Ebo and Kwame, are determined to leave their desperate living conditions in Ghana and find a better life in Europe. Their journey is filled with unimaginable challenges, but Ebo and Kwame are incredibly resourceful boys. Somehow they never lose the hope that life will get better. This is a page turner that is powerful, eye-opening, and heartbreaking. An important read for both teens and adults. — Holly (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
Save the Date Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481404570
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - June 5th, 2018

I had so much fun spending time with the Grant family. Told over one weekend, everything goes wrong for one of the Grant children's wedding. However, Charlie and the Grant family, with the help of a uncle and nephew event planning business, and others passing through, handle all of the chaos with hilarity. This is a heartwarming story about a large family who all gather for a weekend that will leave you wishing you were a member of the Grant family! — Shannon S. (Teens Read Book Club)


Staff Pick Logo
Summer of Salt Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062493620
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: HarperTeen - June 5th, 2018

This is a novel best read beside an open window, with the breeze--preferably smelling of the ocean--blowing through your hair. Georgina has been waiting for her own manifestation of the quiet magic that runs through her family, but she's running out of time. Meanwhile, she's worried about her twin sister, their upcoming departure for college, and the financial future of the small island that she loves--and that is all she's ever known. When the mysterious and possibly-magical bird beloved by the community fails to show up on schedule, things take a turn. Part fantasy, part mystery, and part small-town story, this book is all lovely. Very atmospheric and perfect for fans of Bone Gap.  — Lily 


Adult

Staff Pick Logo
Circe Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316556347
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Please call our store for up-to-the-minute stock availability.
Published: Little Brown and Company - April 10th, 2018

In this far-reaching re-telling of Greek mythology, Madeline Miller takes one of the more intriguing characters in the Odyssey--the witch Circe--and tells her whole story. Spanning the centuries between her birth and the fateful meeting with Odysseus, Miller spins a tale that grapples with the difficulties inherent in these characters and their stories while simultaneously giving them the room to exist as fully-fleshed beings. For those who were forced to read the Odyssey in high school and fans of Greek mythology alike, this book is a clever remix of the old stories that asks questions about mortality, humanity, legacy, and cycles of cruelty. — Lily (RBB Staff)


Staff Pick Logo
How Hard Can It Be?: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250086082
Availability: Not on our shelves now. Usually ships in 1-5 business days from warehouse.
Published: St. Martin's Press - June 5th, 2018

Kate Reddy is back in a new novel that is both hilarious and insightful. Readers first met Kate in I Don't Know How She Does It , where she was learning to manage young children, a job, a marriage, and a personal life. Now Kate's children are teens, her husband is unavailable, her parents and in-laws are elderly, she needs to get back into the workforce, and she's about to turn 50. This is a great read that many women will be able to relate to, and when their lives seem overwhelming, they can turn to Kate for a bit of fun. -Susan (RBB Staff)